Mega Man (character)

Image via Wikipedia

The second in this series of toy reviews before I move to something else for a post or two (seriously, I could make weeks worth of posts just reviewing the action figure box unless I go daily, and I don’t have the time) features the original Blue Bomber, Mega Man! Now this one of two action figures I have featuring the classic version of Capcom‘s game character. The other was from the “Marvel Vs. Capcom” line that came with a version of War Machine. I’ll review those two together, so for now you get just the one.

Let’s be honest, I suck at most video games to begin with, and that includes the Mega Man games (known as Rockman in his native Japan, which is why his non-hero name is “Rock” in both translations). So if I were to not like a game because I couldn’t breeze through it, I wouldn’t even be a casual gamer. Mega Man is one of my favorite games and thus one of my favorite characters. I also like the cartoon (at least when it came out…and I still kind of like it now) but wasn’t able to get my hands on the action figures from those lines. Sadly, I wasn’t able to get any of the action figures from the Jazwares line, based off of the video games, except for this one figure. I’ll tell you why this is a sad thing during the review.

First, let’s take a look at Mega Man himself. Earlier releases had terrible head sculpts, which were big and puffy. This version has a better head, but while the eyes are improved, a little outlining around the eyeballs may or may not have been an improvement. As far as matching the media character model, the official look of Mega Man that is hard to pull off with game sprites, he’s as close as you can get. Although, he is lacking a good smile, which Rock seems to have on his face a lot. It’s not a deal breaker, and he does look ready for battle.

"Don't talk about my mommaboard!"

Outside of not being able to look up and down, the figure has near-complete articulation. The leg armor limits his ankles, but he has full neck movement side-to-side, a working waist, elbows, knees, wrists, and what I call the “watch” pose. That’s where you can have a character look at his watch, meaning he doesn’t just bend at the elbow but can actually swivel his arm. I can almost get him to do the Saturday Night Fever pose (was that ever really a disco move?) and plenty of other poses. He has big feet, which matches the character’s big boots, and the aforementioned ankles so he’s very stable standing. The left leg has been coming off during testing, but it goes back on rather easy. The hips are also articulated, but can only go so far before said leg starts popping off. Still, the figure has plenty of posing room.

"I'll get that fly for you, Dr. Light."

To mimic the game, the Mega Man toy can swap his right arm for his classic weapon, the Mega Buster. A projectile launcher, the Buster fires his energy burst-shaped projectile with a button on the figure. (I think the “power meter” is supposed to be on the top so he can see it. However, I’ve positioned it so you can see it. This would ordinarily put the trigger button on the underside of his arm.) It doesn’t go very far. The burst itself looks less like the video game and more like a blue fireball. Still, it does its job of resembling the game features. The left arm does not come off, or at least would take more force than I want to give it so I assume that it’s not meant to.

This is where the sad part comes in for me personally. Another part of this feature is that you can take the weapons from the other figures in the line to mimic Mega Man’s “weapon copy” ability, one of the chief mechanics of the franchise, regardless of which series it takes place in. (More on that next week, when I review the next set of figures.) There were some of the “Robot Master” villains released as well, but I was never able to get them so this feature was sadly lost on me.

Polly want a cracker?

In this wave of the line, Mega Man was given a little figurine of Beat, a new support unit introduced in the fifth game. Beat was just a flying blunt object, and this toy will hurt you if you hit yourself with it hard enough. It’s just a figurine, so the wings don’t work.

Look out! Beat had burritos for lunch!

The figurine is well-sculpted and painted, from the beak and eyes on the front to the jet thruster in the back. His design is based on Mega Man’s helmet, but has green eyes instead of Mega Man’s blue eyes. I still wish the wings could flap, but while they can bend and return to this shape, the wings look like they could break off if too much force was applied, so I advise against doing so.

"Let us fight...for everlasting peace!" "Wait, I'm out of aspirin."

Decision: stays

I still like this figure and the characters. Additionally, his high range of poseability makes him helpful in my artistic endeavors. Overall it’s a great figure and I’m glad I bought him when I did.

Look who followed Mega Man home.

Next time: We conclude our “Daffy Duck and the Mega Men” set with a three-for-one review. Mattel’s Mega Man: NT Warrior line is up for review, but will they be down for the count?

