Remember when I said I can crosspost media reviews between this site and BW Media Spotlight? Well, this is one of those reviews. I’m a fan of the old movie serials, which convinced me to pick up this video on VHS, seeing as  I didn’t have a DVD player at the time. I’ve seen been trying to “trade” my cassettes for disks to help clear up my shelves. (I have four shelves of videos and more sitting on the floor.)

The following is from an article series called “Scanning My Collection”, where I usually review the comics and other media that has a story that inspires me in my goals or just really interest me. I’m curious to see how well the formatting works between the themes for the different sites. I’m sure there will be more, but that means the approach isn’t whether or not I’ll hold on to it but a review from a storytelling perspective. I post it to show that cleaning up the clutter doesn’t mean giving up the stuff you like.

 


 

The Adventures of Captain Marvel is my favorite movie serial, so much so that even though I already owned the VHS I wanted to get this on DVD. Not just because I’m trying to clean some space on my movie shelves by replacing the tapes with the less-room-taking DVDs, because I’m planning to keep this tape, but because I wanted to make sure I had a way to watch this.

For the uniformed who didn’t click the Wikipedia link up there, movie serials come from the days where there were no televisions. Comics were still around, and you could listen to your favorite characters on audio dramas, but every Saturday kids could head down to their local theater to catch their favorite characters, and a few originals, in multi-part stories of good versus evil. It’s an experience that my generation never really had, since unless you went over your friend’s house to do something other than play Atari 2600 or get kicked outside by your friend’s parents so they could watch their own shows or get at that Donkey Kong you could “enjoy the fresh air and sunlight”, you never came close to knowing.

Nowadays you can watch something like Lost and discuss what happened over the water cooler the next day, or just wait and ruin the experience by watching all the DVD’s in a big marathon. Or you can wait until the internet is hosting them somewhere because you can’t fathom waiting a week for the next chapter. Because you’re a bunch of wussies. (I changed a letter to fit the usual BW protocols. Guess which one.) I used to catch Matinee at the Bijou on PBS and that (plus some airing on my local Cable Access channel) is how I fell in love with them. My favorite animated series, Filmation’s Flash Gordon was also done in this style

Someday I’ll get into serials as a whole and why I like them, but for this SMC, let’s take a look at this one specifically, and see why I like it so much.

The Adventures of Captain Marvel

FORMAT: DVD
STARRING: Tom Tyler, Frank Coghlan, Jr, Louise Currie, William Benedict, and others
SHOW TYPE: 12-part movie serial
DISTRIBUTOR: (originally) Republic Pictures (this collection) Artisan (VHS version) Republic Home Video

This calls on the question of why Republic didn’t release the DVD as well, and I think they were both released at the same time. I picked up the VHS because I didn’t have a DVD player at the time.

The story is, of course, based on the then Fawcett Publications owned comic character. According to IMDB, this was intended as a Superman serial but National turned it down. (They would later make two serials with Columbia.) Thus Captain Marvel would be the first live-action superhero from the comics.

Let's see an elephant do this!

To depict Marvel’s flying ability, the special effects team used a dummy dressed in the Marvel costume (dummies would also be used when Captain Marvel needed to toss guys around) on a set of wires, with the actor, the late Tom Tyler, or his stuntman also using properly choreographed leaps. This might not work as well today, but framed right and in black and white it is as believable as the 1940s are going to get. (It was better than using a cartoon character for flying and the occasional superpower display, as the later Superman serials would employ.) The outfit itself is rather faithful to the comic of the time, right down to the patterns on the cape.

There were some changes to the comic’s history for the sake of the story, however, showing right from the start Hollywood would get it wrong. 🙂 Instead of a 10-year-old boy, Billy Batson (Frank Coglain, Jr), appears to be closer to 20. Also, he is already a radio news reporter, although we never actually seem him report anything. He accompanies an expedition to Egypt, where they uncover an old tomb. It’s Billy’s reluctance to enter a warned off area that show him worthy to protect the secret weapon within. (Because as any Yu-Gi-Oh fan knows, ancient Egypt wants us DEAD!) Position the lenses of the scorpion statue correctly and you can turn base metals into gold. (It’s the 1940’s, best to go along with it.) Position them wrong, and you end up with a superweapon (by that era’s standards) can could blow you up or melt a cliff face.

"The first thing you should do with your money, boss, is update your wardrobe."

Seeking this weapon is “the Scorpion”, who convinces some of the locals that he speaks for the volcano god, Scorpio. (My ancient Egypt mythology is weak, but I don’t recall that god.) He uses the native to help steal the scorpion statue, but the lenses have been split up among the party. In true Republic serial fashion, one of that party happens to BE the Scorpion, who uses his gang to recover the other lenses.

"Say the magic word." "Please?"

Kept from the original origin is the meeting with the ancient wizard, Shazam, complete with the famous acronym. Captain Marvel is to be the protector of the scorpion, and must get it back from the criminal. Tal Chotali, Prof Malcolm, Prof Luthor Bentley, Harry Carlyle, Dwight Fisher, and Dr Stephen Lang are the other members of the party, one of whom is the Scorpion. (I’m not telling which one.) He plans to wipe out the other members with his gang and his right-hand man, Barnett, and steal all the parts of his namesake for money and power. Rounding out the cast, and giving Billy some trusted allies, are Malcom’s assistant, Betty Wallace, and Billy’s partner, Whitey Murphy. (The links will take you to the actors who played those roles.)

In the following chapters, Billy and his friends must escape the usual deathtraps in order to uncover which of the party is the Scorpion. This is made easy as each person is killed on by one until the Scorpion is revealed in the final episode. My favorite trap was actually set by one of the good guys, who set up his own security system for his lens. When you work the safe, oscillating machine guns pop up and fire when the final number is hit. Who needs ADT?

Just before realizing that all their friends were dead, Betty was unemployed, and they had no way to get back to America.

I won’t spoil the ending, because I really want you folks to watch this. Amazon.com has it available, and I highly recommend it. Alternately, The Internet Archive also has the serial up for viewing. The DVD has no extras, which is actually disappointing. Background information on the serial, interviews with any surviving actors, or a discussion with fans would have been interesting. All we have are closed captions and scene selections. However, if you’re a movie serial or superhero fan, especially of the Shazam! franchise, this is a must have for your collection.

