When I saw the solicit for the “Iron Man 2 Adult Helmet“, I wasn’t expecting a whole lot, so don’t get me wrong. It only went for $25.00. Look at some of the other prices. Those are for more high-grade replicas. However, I thought it would be a toy helmet, much like the ones Hasbro makes for kids and my head probably wouldn’t fit comfortably in. I wasn’t expecting electronics, since light up eyes and voice changers weren’t in the solicit. On the other hand, I thought I didn’t expect a costume-grade helmet. I knew you could get a mask, but a full head helmet?

I should have retaken this with the better camera.

So imagine my surprise when that’s what I got. However, one look at it and it isn’t necessarily a bad surprise. It was, however, supposed to arrive in October. It arrived in December because Previews, the catalog that comic stores uses to sell comics (after they pulled some dirty stunts to eliminate the competition) just sucks, any many stores and comic collectors will back me up on this.

This got quite the reaction from folks in my local comic store as it sat there waiting for payday to become my property. Can you blame them? Even if you can’t tell it’s a costume helmet (instead of an adult toy helmet–clean definition), even in the package it looks good. And again I have to remark on the package. It displays well and protects it from shipping. In fact, I kind of hate to take it out of there, since it’s one of those packages you can’t close up again. But I bought it in part to wear, so hand me a knife.

More