This time we’re talking video games. Look at the mess. These are my old NES video games, along with some other items, that have been sitting in a cabinet for years, unplayed. I plan to go through these games and clear things out but a former co-worker has first crack at any NES games I’m planning to get rid of. Any neither of us wants will go to eBay) (I just opened an account–look for “ClutterReporter” and keep an eye on the sidebar to the right of this article, I’ll have stuff up by the end of the month.) However, this such a mess that it would be a pain trying to go through them, so before I review them, I have to organize them.

That’s better; now they’re alphabetized and in easier to go through stacks. I can review them one at a time, once I get my NES cleaned up. There are still a few games I enjoy and I’m hoping to fix up my equally cluttered schedule so I can get some work done and still have time to have fun (not to mention work on the projects that happen to already BE fun). Most of the games are still in their original box, but some I bought second hand and a few have an interesting story to it.

My friend at the time and I were in a department store looking at NES games when some lady came up to us and was willing to give us games. No, we didn’t have to go anywhere with her or do anything morally or sexually questionable, she was punishing her son for something he did. So she gave us a whole bunch of games and we split them up between the two of us. And these were some darn good games. I felt sorry for that kid, and I hope that if he actually did something wrong he learned his lesson. On the other hand, Super Mario Brothers 2 and Tetris for free. I got over it pretty quick.

Before I put them back in the cabinet, though, there are a few other things in there I need to straighten up.

These are video games, too, but for the Atari. Not the 2600, as I never had that system. These are for the Atari 800 computer, and unlike the version in that link, mine didn’t have an expansion slot, my guess being that I have the later model with all the memory it needed inside from the factory.

If you have seen an Atari 2600 cartridge in person, the 800 ones were about that size. You will see these games in further reviews as well, although I may just do them as VIDEO reviews so you can see the games in action for yourself. Now this we actually have a storage box for, something I wish I had for the NES game packs (that’s what Nintendo called them). I’m going to have to hunt down the manuals, as knowing me I’m sure I have them somewhere. You’ll notice that there are labels on the games so I can tell what they are in the box. However, Father Time has made his strike on the glue, so I may switch to regular labels instead of the old “label gun” variety. All my games go in the “left cartridge” slot anyway (the right slot was used for other programs, none of which I own–even Atari BASIC used the left side) so it’s not like I need know which slot it goes in.

There they are, the classic joystick us old fogeys remember. One button and a stick instead of a pad. On the left is the typical controller and it was universal to all Atari systems, much like the X-Box 360 and current PC controllers are today. On the right was a flight stick called the Quickshot, produced by Spectravideo. In addition to a joystick-mounted fire button (and you could use both for rapid fire) and what passed for an ergonomic design back then (supposedly it was the very first ergonomic game controller), it had suction cups on the bottom that kept it secure to the table. I actually have four of these (the Atari 800 had four joystick slots) and two of the regular controllers, but I seldom have anyone to play with. They’re kept behind the game box, the only thing I was doing right storage wise. I also have two extension cables so that I can play from across the room. I only had one four-player game so I don’t even know if the 3rd and 4th player slots work. 🙂

Here’s a bit of history. In this binder I kept old copies of Atari Age and Atari Connection magazine, which I obtained from being part of the Atari Club at the time. I should go through these at some point to see if they’re worth keeping, if only for the nostalgia of it all. You also see an old Atari catalog book and you don’t see the Atari 800 manuals that I also have there. These are the computer manuals, so I still don’t know where the game manuals are. I’ll be putting this with my various books and manuals.

OK, so now everything is out. Time to reorganize and return them home.

Much better. Additionally I found that I could fit my LaserScope in there and clear up some floor clutter. If you haven’t seen this particular peripheral in action, it’s very underwhelming, plus really tight on an adult head. If you’re an NES collector and you see one, unless you’re a completest I say pass on it. That’s definitely eBay bait and I’ll review it in the future.

So that’s two video game spaces down. I have one more to go, but it should be an easy one and then we can prepare to actually start reviewing these things.

