gali 1

Hello, 2014

Over at my other site I reviewed a Bionicle comic. It…was kind of lacking. However, it did convince me to review the one Bionicle figure I own. In case you didn’t read the article I linked to, Bionicle was one LEGO’s ventures beyond the classic building blocks and into one of action figures. (You may be more aware of their spiritual successor, the “Hero Factory” line, only they’re full robots.) In this case it takes place on the island of Mata Nui, most likely not on Earth. Wikipedia claims the world was called Aqua Magna. The people of Mata Nui were bio-organic in nature and seem to have developed a culture around both the various lands and climates their tribes lived in as well as a shared culture involving wearing masks. The various tribes also shared the legend of the Toa, mighty warriors who would return to protect the island from evil.

After defeating their first threat, a new foe appeared as the toyline expanded. During the course of these events, the Toa gain new powers and become Toa Nuvi…basically the same figures but with extra armor. This is when I bought one to experiment. Having seen the stories on the now gone website, the one that most interested me was the lone female, Gali, whose element was water. Although I can’t swim I do love the water (yeah, figure that one out) and blue happens to be my favorite color. Plus maybe I wanted to support the female in the boys toyline.

gali 2

She just went to pieces, didn’t she?

Being a LEGO toy, you naturally had to assemble her first. This picture shows some pieces partly constructed. It also comes with an instruction booklet and a small catalog of her Toa Nuvi brothers and some other figures and merchandise. There’s also a blue LEGO piece but I’m not sure why or if it even came with the figure. The Toa are able to merge into two separate giant forms, three for each, know as Toa Kaita. The instructions include how to turn Gali and her trio-mates into Kaita mode and unite them but not having the other two I don’t really care.

Technically, she's naked right now and I've lost my family-friendly status.

Technically, she’s naked right now and I’ve lost my family-friendly status.

This is Gali’s regular form, the figure that was produced before the Nuvi release. Well, the things on her feet are new but I’ll get to that. While the characters are meant to always wear masks, as they do in the various media, she does have a face under there, not just a design to hold the mask in place. This way when she wears a mask she looks like she’s wearing a mask. Also the Toa and Makorans (the regular citizens of Mata Nui) may not sleep with them or you can have an adventure where their mask was stolen. Whatever the reason, it’s a nice touch even if it wasn’t needed based on the storyline.

I’ll show off articulation in the next photo but the head is immobile. She has no waist, elbows, or knees. She does have wrist articulation, but no hands. Those things at the end of the arms represent hands and can hold her weapons but no actual hands which kind of disappoints me. She also has hips and ankles as well as shoulder articulation, allowing for a decent range of poses for a figure you build yourself.

Armed for combat.

Armed for combat.

Now for the Nui armor. Gali’s mask was standard but the light gray armor is new. This is what sold me on using this figure to try out the line and while I wasn’t drawn to getting any more Bionicle figures I can see why there are fans of it. It’s also here that I can discuss a couple of extra gimmicks. Those new pieces in the foot can hold her blade weapons so she can appear to be riding them like a surfboard, but I never use it. The things on her hands are propellers which will help her move faster in the water, a good addition for the Toa of water.

There’s also an action feature here. Turning the knob on her back will move the shoulders up and down, creating a slashing motion. If you have both gears in place (which I recommend as they help keep the arms on; the instructions only show them in the right for some reason) both arms swing in opposite directions. It doesn’t really hinder the shoulder posability since they’re ball joints connected to the moving part so it’s the rare occasion of the automated slashing gimmick not being a problem.

Overall, I still have no interest in picking up more from this line, but I do hope that when the clutter clearing is done I have a place to display this figure. She looks cool and I’m glad I bought her back in the day, but I don’t plan to bring in any more of her people and she could at least use some new friends. Plus I have her in the container so I don’t lose everything storing it somewhere else. She must feel like a Pok√©mon in there.

